Louisiana Small Business Association
Join LSBA/Renew Your Membership

All New Employees Must be Reported

All Louisiana employers are required to report newly hired and re-hired employees to the Louisiana Directory of New Hires within 20 days of the employee’s first day on the job.  

Why do I have to report new hires?  Louisiana law requires new hire reporting because it helps with the collection of child support.

Which employees do I have to report?

  • New Employees. Employers must report all employees who reside or work in the State of Louisiana and to whom the employer anticipates paying earnings.  Employees should be reported even if they work only one day and are terminated.
  • Re-Hires or Recalled Employees. Employers must report re-hires, as well as employees who return to work after being laid off, furloughed, separated, granted a leave without pay, or terminated from employment. Employers must also report any employee who remains on the payroll during a break in service or gap in pay, and then returns to work. This includes seasonal workers.
  • Temporary Employees. Temporary employment agencies are responsible for reporting any employee they hire to report for an assignment.  If you hire a temp, the agency the temp works for will report that person as a new hire.  

Do Independent Contractors need to be reported?  No, you do not have to report independent contractors used by your business.

Do I need to report an employee who worked for a couple of hours or days and then quit?  If the employee filled out a W-4 form, that employee must be reported as a new hire even if he or she only worked for a few hours. 

What information do I have to report?

  • Employee's Name, Address, Social Security Number and Employee's Occupation 
  • Employee's Date of Hire 
  • Employer's Name, Address and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).
  • Employer's State Identification Number

I provide employee information on my Quarterly Wage Reports. Do I also have to report the employee as a new hire?  Yes.  Submitting quarterly wage reports to the Louisiana Department of Labor does not satisfy the obligation to submit timely new hire reports. 

How do I report new hires?

What if I use a payroll service?  If you use a payroll or accounting service, consider asking the service to report your new hires for you.

I’ve never reported new hires.  What do I do?  Begin by reporting any new employees you have hired within the last 180 days.  Then, continue by reporting any new hires within 20 days of their hire date.

If I take over a business, do I have to report all of the employees?  No, not if the employees have previously been reported.  But you should report any new employees you hire after taking over the business.

Do I need to report terminated employees as well?  No, only new hires and re-hires are required to be reported to the State Directory of New Hires.

What if I have questions about new hire reporting?  You can call the Louisiana Directory of New Hires toll-free at (888) 223-1461 with any questions regarding the new hire reporting process. The help desk staff is available Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 5:00pm Central Standard Time.  You can also visit la-newhire.com for answers to frequently asked questions.

Published: 08/06/2012

Visit: Small Business Alert Archive

Return to: LSBA Home Page

 

 

 

 

 

 

©2019 LSBA, P.O. Box 2587, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-2587 • Phone: 844-242-LSBA (5722) • info@LouisianaSBA.org